Kahnawake Gaming Commission
Rate this licenses

Within this analysis of the Kahnawake Gaming Commission, we take a look at what makes the online iGaming license provider separate from other jurisdictions.

Kahnawake Gaming Commission: An Introduction

First and foremost, we look into the Kahnawake Gaming Commission and what it stands for. The Kahnawake Gaming Commission was formed in 1996 under the-then name Kahnawake Gaming Law. It was only a few years later that the Commission was given the task of watching over interactive online gambling.

There are currently over 50 different clients working with a Kahnawake license. Specifically, there’s approximately 250 online gaming websites. The most popular ones would have to be either Bovada for US players or Bodog for EU and Canadian residents. Check out their reviews here for more information on the two sites.

Tasks of the Commission

The primary focus of the Kahnawake Gaming Commission is to regulate all online gaming activity for agents within the Kahnawake Mohawk Territory. Also, there are several principles which the Kahnawake Gaming Commission agents must follow:

  • Regulate and Control interactive gaming based in or offered from within the Mohawk Territory of Kahnawake
  • Ensure interactive gaming is responsible, fair and honest
  • Prevent any crime related activities within interactive gaming
  • Operators must treat players fairly, pay winners promptly and handle all information player-related confidently
  • Make sure that vulnerable players and under 18-year-olds are protected from the risks of gaming

Moreover, the Kahnawake Gaming Commission recommends that all agents use Mohawk Internet Technologies. The Kahnawake Gaming Commission has strong bonds with other interactive jurisdictions.

In 2005, it entered a Memoranda of Understanding with Antigua and Barbuda. In 2006, an agreement with the Malta Gaming Authority. Even more, with Alderney in 2010.


Kahnawake Gaming Commission: Licenses

Within this section, there are four different licenses which gaming site hosts can choose from. Hence, each license has its own perks for those who sign up for a Kahnawake license. Those are:

  • Interactive Gaming Licenses
  • Client Provider Authorization
  • Inter-Jurisdictional Authorization
  • Key Person Permit

In the following section, we take a look at each one of them individually and what you can expect. However, if you need more explanation about the terms just check out our online jackpot guides to find your directory.

Interactive Gaming License

Within this type of license, a company can provide internet services to authorized client providers based in the same location. This is the most typical type of license, which you’ll find in the best jackpot sites.

Client Provider Authorization

This type of license allows the conduct of gaming operations from a co-location facility operated by the holder of an Interactive Gaming License.

Inter-Jurisdictional Authorization

This Gaming Commission license permits the conduct of interactive gaming from a co-location facility operated by the holder of an Interactive Gaming License.

Key Person Permit

This license is a demand by someone employed or contracted by the holder of an Interactive Gaming License or Authorized Client Provider to provide managerial or operational functions.

Kahnawake Gaming Commission Popularity

The main reason why several online gaming operators sign up for the Kahnawake Gaming Commission license is to make use of various attractive packages.

The main appeal comes from 0% tax rates, huge bandwidth and a highly safe security system. Thus, online gambling sites are eager to sign up for a Kahnawake license.


To this end, the Kahnawake Gaming Commission is one of the oldest in the industry. Along with the Curaçao, UK Gambling Commission and Malta Gaming Authority, it’s also one of the most prestigious. Moreover, you can find out more about these licenses through our gambling license reviews.